September 3, 2005 – Chris Dyson won his first American Le Mans LMP1 pole today at Mosport International Raceway. Dyson was first out in the #20 Thetford/Norcold car, set the fastest time on his second lap and was never headed. James Weaver in the # 16 AER-powered Lola qualified second for an all-Dyson Racing front row. It was the fifth pole in eight races for the boys from Poughkeepsie NY, and the third pole in a row here at Mosport, the fastest track in North America.

“I am really pleased for the guys,” said Dyson. “We have been here since last Sunday testing. The guys are like family and it has been a long season and frustrating for everyone in some respects, so this is a nice way to end the week for us.” Added Rob Dyson, “My congratulations to Chris. The guys have been working exceedingly hard and as far as work effort goes, this is probably the hardest season we have ever had. It is always gratifying to win qualifying.”

Chris went on to say, “This is kind of a second home track for us after Lime Rock. We have spent many a cold spring day here testing. It is one of those tracks that shows our cars’ strengths. Mosport is a very fast, flowing circuit where you have a lot of downforce on the car at all times which means our cars work right in the meat of that aero window.” Added James Weaver, “You have to be on top of your game here to get a good lap time. Mosport sets the standard and we always try to take this attitude with us to all the other tracks we race on.”

Weaver and Butch Leitzinger won the race here last year from pole, leading 100 of 137 laps. Here’s to a season of hard work paying off on this Labor Day weekend.

Sunday’s race will be seen live on SPEED Channel from 3:00 PM to 5:45 PM EDT. There is also live radio available at

Pos Car# Class Drivers Speed Car Make
1. 20 P1 C.Dyson/A.Wallace 1:07.682 Lola EX257/AER
2. 16 P1 J.Weaver/B.Leitzinger 1:07.883 Lola EX257/AER
3. 1 P1 J.Lehto/M.Werner 1:07.999 Audi R8
4. 2 P1 E.Pirro/F.Biela 1:08.165 Audi R8
5. 37 P2 C.Field/L.Halliday/J.Field 1:10.165 Lola B05/40/AER
6. 10 P2 Maculuso/McMurry/Bucknum 1:11.186 Courage C-65/AER
7. 19 P2 B.Devlin/G.van der Steur 1:13.277 Lola B2K/40/AER
8. 63 GT1 T.Borscheeller/J.Mowlem 1:13.277 Saleen S7R
9. 4 GT1 O.Gavin/O.Baretta 1:13.756 Corvette C6-R
10. 35 GT1 A.Bertolini/ Simone 1:13.885 Maserati MC12